File image of Congress leader Ashok Chavan. (Image: PTI)
Fresh Delhi: The Congress on Sunday launched its First listing of 51 candidates for the next month’s Maharashtra Assembly elections, fielding former chief minister Ashok Chavan from the Bhokar constituency and teach party chief Vijay alias Balasaheb Thorat from Sangamner. The party has fielded 23 sitting MLAs, out of the 42 seats it had won within the 2014 assembly polls.
Ashok Chavan’s wife, Amita Sharma-Chavan, is sitting MLA from Bhokar. She had contested her maiden election in 2014 after Chavan won the Lok Sabha election that yr.

Ragged chief minister Vilasrao Deshmukh’s son Amit has been fielded from the Latur City seat, whereas ex-Union Home Minister Sushilkumar Shinde’s daughter Praniti will contest from the Solapur City Central. The First listing furthermore contains candidates from nine constituencies in Mumbai.
Ashok alias Bhai Jagtap, who’s the party’s sitting MLC, will contest the assembly election from Colaba constituency in Mumbai. BJP’s chief whip within the teach assembly and six-time MLA Raj Ample Purohit at the moment represents this constituency.
The next skills of Congress leaders furthermore made their procedure into the election with Ruturaj Sanjay Patil, nephew of sitting MLC Satej Patilm, being fielded from the Kolhapur south seat.
The party furthermore fielded Ashok Patil Nilangekar, son of former Maharashtra chief minister Shivajirao Patil Nilangekar, from Nilanga seat in Latur district. On the 2d, the constituency is represented by Ashok’s nephew and teach Labour Minister Sambhaji Patil Nilangekar.
There are 12 assembly constituencies in Nagpur and 62 in Vidarbha put. The lone sitting Congress MLA in Nagpur district, Sunil Kedar, who represents the Saoner constituency, has furthermore discovered a map within the listing.
Senior party leader Nitin Raut, who heads the party’s SC department, has been fielded from the Nagpur North (reserved) constituency. BJP’s MLA Milind Mane is the sitting MLA from this constituency.
The party has fielded Chief of Opposition Vijay Waddetiwar from Bramhapuri. He’s the sitting MLA from there. Anil Mangrulkar (Yavatmal), Yashomati Thakur (Teosa in Amravati), Ranjit Kamble (Deoli in Wardha), Amar Kale (Arvi in Wardha) and Satish Varjurkar (Chimur) are one more candidates from the Vidarbha put.
The listing of candidates used to be finalised after the party’s Central Election Committee met under the chairmanship of party chief Sonia Gandhi and cleared the names. The assembly elections for the 288-member Home in Maharashtra will likely be held on October 21 and results will likely be out on October 24.
(With PTI inputs)

Accumulate the better of News18 brought to your inbox – subscribe to News18 Fracture of day. Educate on Twitter, Instagram, Fb, Telegram, TikTok and on YouTube, and stop within the know with what’s going down on this planet round you – in real time.

Read plump article